Home > Computer Advice, Project Management > Screen Capture Made Easy

Screen Capture Made Easy

In the process of developing this project I needed a way to capture the website images. I thought I would be able to do this simply by using the “Print Screen Button” and pasting from the clipboard into the Word document. However there were some screen that I did not want to include the entire page and I decided to download a tool that will allow me to capture part of the screen.

I needed to download a tool to capture the images for illustrating this project. I have used CNET for most of my downloads because over the years I have not had any problems with their downloads. The downloads are reviewed and this gives you a good indication if others have had problems with the applications.

image of a captured area

Screen area captured

I found a Screen Capture application that was free. It is ScreenCapture. It is easy to use because of the very simple interface which consist of two buttons 1. Capture Area 2. Capture Screen. The program floats on top of the page and if you click on the Capture Screen button the application goes away for a few seconds and then reappears. It looks like nothing has been done but as the application did it’s disappearance act it copied the screen to the clipboard. All I had to do then was go into the Word Document and paste the image into my page. The Capture image works similar as the application disappears but this time it is replaced with a cross hair cursor which will allow you to select the portion of the screen you want to capture.

As soon as you have drawn your area by clicking and dragging then release the button you have the portion captured to the clipboard.

image shows a border around imgage to be captured

Captured area

If you want to save the image to a folder instead of the clipboard you can use the browse button to select a folder for saving the images.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

