Home > Project Management > QR Code Research

QR Code Research

and example of a qr code

Your data when you need it.

I knew that the QR Code could store a large amount of data in a small space.

 

I wanted this database to include prescriptions, allergies, emergency contact, blood type, physician’s contact and primary medical history.

My first attempt was made to include all of this information in one QR Code. I was able to create the code but soon found that the QR Readers that are available are limited to reading about five lines of codes. Most users of QR Codes will primarily use the code to direct the scanner to a URL which is a small amount of information is easily read by QR Readers. However my intent was to get around the need to have an internet connection and instead use the code as an imbedded database. The only way around this would be to break the information down into smaller chunks and categorize the information under medical headings.  Unfortunately this would also mean that the product I was creating could not be a credit card size form. I was thinking the limitation of data reading was derailing the whole project until I discovered the Avery label 5302 which is a tent card. It is still the size of a credit card but because it folds there is the potential for a four sided card or eight if I use two tent cards attached as a book. There is still the convenience of a small form but the added bonus of multiple pages to hold multiple categories of health information. By breaking some of the large informational categories into multiple codes, such as prescriptions I could have two pages of medicine data holding up to 10 prescriptions. If there is need for more prescriptions I could reduce the size of the QR Code image and include up to three images on each of the two pages giving me the potential to hold up to thirty prescriptions in one book. The added bonus of the Avery Tent Card is that the sheet contains enough space to print two copies of one person’s card. I was concerned before that if I used business card stock I would end up wasting material of one sheet to print one person’ card. Now I can offer a duplicate card to the user and not waste the material of left over blank cards.

logo for the QR DataBook

Your data when you need it.

The project was beginning to come together. I had the form. I knew that it was now possible for anyone to carry their personal medical data with them at any time. “Your data when you need it.”, became the QR Data Book slogan.

With slogan and logo developed my next step would be to attain feed back through market research.

  1. SF
    July 17, 2012 at 7:09 am

    This is a great idea. Have you thought about readers for medical scans and radiology? I’m thinking about solution for this, I don’t want to develop smart interpreters to translate the scan and provide a summary report, but I’d like it the same way like yours to enable doctors to see the result of these scans on electronic devices and smart phones.

    • September 30, 2012 at 1:56 pm

      Thank you Shereen for your comments I would like to hear more from you as you develop your medical scan system.

  2. July 19, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    QR codes are not only a great tool for storing and tracking information about products, but they can also be used for marketing purposes. They can be very effective if utilized properly.

    Thanks for the great read!

    • September 30, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      Thanks Bryan for your comments it is the marketing part that is still developing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

